Nowadays, children watch too much TV. Why is this happening, and what can be done to prevent it?

Television has become an essential device in homes over the years. However, lately, many children spend excessive time watching television. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this trend and suggest steps to prevent this. There are two primary reasons why children spend most of their hour viewing TV. Firstly, watching TV has become their main activity because there is restricted space to play outdoor games due to space constraints, especially in houses situated in the cities, so children have fewer outdoor activities incorporated in their free time, and they resort to watching TV. For example, high-rise apartments have confined spaces, and most parks are being turned into buildings, leaving children confined to their homes watching TV most of the time. As parents are primarily working and busy, spending less time with children, households are using TV as a babysitter, so it acts as a companion for the children as well as entertainment. In the end, children will get used to watching TV excessively at home because there is nothing else to do. Fortunately, there are many ways to prevent children from overindulging in TV. For a start, the government could ensure developers of buildings include parks with playgrounds for children to play; this may help reduce the hours children spend on TV and be more active in outdoor activities such badminton or soccer in the parks with their neighbourhood friends. Furthermore, working parents might want to plan for a better work-life balance by spending more time with their children without the presence of the TV and doing simple activities together such as hiking, playing sports or reading books together. Both suggested recommendations can easily help children to reduce their TV screen time. In conclusion, the excessive amount of time children spend watching TV may be due to confined spaces to play activities and less time spent with their parents. Better law enforcement on parks in neighbourhoods and improved quality time within the family can help prevent wasted time on TV.