Nowadays children watch too much TV. Why is this happening, and what can be done to prevent it?

Over the years, television has become an essential device in homes. However, lately, many children spend excessive time watching television. In this essay, I will discuss the reason for this trend and how we can prevent it. Why are children watching TV excessively? I believe it is because programs shown on-air are engaging, interactive and easily accessible compared to the olden days. Children can watch anything at the click of the remote control, and they do not need to read or search for any books to learn something new or entertain themselves. Similarly, no exertion is required while watching TV as one can be in the comfort of one’s living room with snacks and drinks. For instance, most kids start school early in the morning and come home late at noon tired, so the most convenient activity would be to sit on the couch and enjoy the entertaining programs on TV. This pattern becomes a vicious cycle where it occurs daily, and soon, they will be watching more TV than they did before. So how do we prevent children from watching too much TV? Schools and parents must reinforce outdoor activities to ensure most of their time is preoccupied. If more beneficial exercises like playing sports, learning musical instruments, and social movement are emphasised, children would have less time to spend on TV. For example, active students in games like football or rugby would be busy training after school; the same goes for those learning the guitar or the piano or engaged in language or debate clubs. So if our younger generation had better recreational activities to fill up their time, this would prevent them from spending excessive time on TV. In conclusion, the extra time children spend watching TV may be due to the convenience of watching fun programs being aired on TV. So better emphasis on recreational activities among the young would help prevent wasted moments on TV.