Q. Teenagers should not be allowed to use mobile phones at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, smartphones have become a necessity for everyone, and the amount of time spent using it has been increasing, especially among young generations. I believe it is crucial to ban students from utilizing their smartphones at school. Students who spend most of their time on their mobile phones will likely find it hard to focus on studying. This is mainly because the addiction to smartphones is becoming more inevitable. During free time, young generations now prefer surfing the internet, chatting through social media apps, as well as watching some Youtube videos than having direct interactions with others. Instead of learning the subjects in class, they tend to regularly check their phones to see if there are any updates from their favourite celebrities. Consequently, their grades are declining. In addition to this, people have argued that the growing intensity of social media usage has created serious problems affecting students ’ mental well-being. This is because most students are exposed to unfiltered content that is uncontrollable. For example, many schools have reported that the number of cyberbullying that is related to school is increasing rapidly. Another example would be how trends are now pressuring students to do unnecessary activities. If they do not watch the most recent shows that are talked about by their friends, they will be regarded as nerds and not cool. As a result, more teenagers are now suffering from anxieties, depression, and isolation. To conclude, the extensive use of smartphones will impose negative impacts on students such as failing their classes and becoming mentally unstable. Thus I believe prohibiting the use of them are essentials in improving their school life.