some people say that the only reason for learninng a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

I started to learn English when I was 12 years old in junior high school, most people around the world have certain experiences studying a foreign language. How did your teacher or parent explain to you the purpose of learning a language? This essay attempts to compare the reasons for studying language. To begin with, some people claim that going to travel or work in a foreign country is only a reason for learning a language. Obviously, language is a tool for communication so if you go abroad and cannot speak a language used in that country, you have no way to tell what you want to do to others. Although the development of automatic translation, talking directly to local people in their mother tongue is the way quicker and clearer to communicate, and that is the best moment of tourism you enjoy. Nothing to say, English is the common language in the world so English ability is an indispensable requirement when you look for a position in any international environment job. Nevertheless, others question whether travel or work is the sole reason why people should study a foreign language. Language is useful not only when you actually go to the other country, but also when you stay in your country. You can obtain information through a foreign language in addition to your first language, which means you can get access to much more information than a single language user. For instance, when you search for information related to the election of the US President, the report by US local media might be different from what you read in your language. That gives you various perspectives and ways of interpreting certain information in different contexts. To sum up, from my personal experience, language is a powerful tool to provide you not only a skill of communication during work or travel but also knowledge and point of view of other people or country. I strongly suggest that there will be more population to study language and the age to start learning should become lower so that people can acquire more deeper and thorough skills to understand and analyze people or things which are not from your country.