Some people think it's better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it's good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Friendships are beautiful but they need constant effort for sustenance. Some people believe a friend should have a similar thought process, while others believe it is okay to have a friend who has a different opinion on certain matters. In this essay, I will explain both views and will establish that having a friend who sometimes disagrees with you is even better for your own self. Some champion the thought that having a friend who is like-minded is better because they feel contradictory opinions can ruin their friendship in the long term. According to them, it is better to live in harmony rather than having disputes or arguments over petty things. If two friends, for instance, are having a discussion on a political matter, and they have the same point of view then they get a feeling that they are always correct and they pat themselves on the back feeling proud of themselves. If they had opposite views, on the other hand, it could have led to a clash and they might develop negative feelings toward the other person, eventually leading to their break-up. Others, however, myself included, feel that having constructive arguments can actually be beneficial for ourselves. If we tend to disagree more often, first of all, it clearly states that we are being honest, we have a stand of our own as we like to share our opinions without a filter and that is a trait of true friendship. Instead, if we agree on things for the sake of friendship only then it certainly isn't true companionship. This can ultimately affect the friendship for a longer period of time. In my opinion, having a true friend who has the guts to say what they feel on your face is far better than having a friend who is either dishonest to you or is agreeing with whatever you say for their personal gains, most probably. Furthermore, it is extremely unlikely for two people to have the same opinion all the time, and they are faking it if they do. Ultimately, they are not your true friend, in the first place. In conclusion, picking a friend can be a daunting decision for some, especially for those who are only looking for like-minded people to be friends with. According to me, it is certainly important to have disagreements whenever necessary for your personal growth as it is impossible for two people to think exactly the same in all situations.