In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is apossitive or negative development?

In many parts of the world, the rapid growth and living conditions of cities which are promoted through various media platforms, attract numerous people living in the countryside to move to this developed area in search of higher outcomes and a better life. This trend has contributed to an unprecedented rise in urban density, exacerbating a wide range of societal and environmental concerns. I believe this is a negative trend due to its harmful consequences for both rural and urban communities. To begin with, the migration of people from rural areas to urban centres threatens the economy and culture. Firstly, some places in farming areas lack labourers, leading to a decline in agricultural production. Once careers such as farming, fishing and gardening suffer from labour shortages, this can result in food shortages for local people and lead to a decrease in regional economic productivity. Moreover, the loss of traditional culture becomes evident when young individuals migrate to urban areas. Many festivals and traditional crafts may face disappearance if there are no successors to preserve and continue traditional practices. Secondly, one of the main issues when a large number of people migrate to cities is overpopulation, especially in low-cost housing. As a result, traffic volume tends to rise, and also traffic jams, which affects public safety and reduces working hours. Furthermore, the emissions from these vehicles are the main reason for air pollution, which influences residents’ health and environment. Another point is labour market competition, this can cause a loss of jobs or low-income occupations, and increase social problems in large cities such as thief, drug abuse, and homelessness. To sum up, although moving to urban areas brings opportunities for seeking better-paid jobs and benefiting from improved quality of life, I firmly believe this is a negative trend as it causes serious impacts on the agricultural economy and social problems.