Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

In the present day, plastic bag usage is increasing at an alarming rate and it is the main cause of land and sea pollution as people often dispose of them after use. I strongly agree that government should ban this practice as it has an adverse effect on our environment. To begin with, plastic bags have adverse effects on our environment as they non -biodegradable. This means that it takes hundreds of years for plastic to decompose into smaller pieces. Therefore, when the plastic bags are buried in the soil or dumped into the oceans, eventually wild animals and marine life will eat them and plastic will enter the food chain causing major issues and painful death when ingested. Besides, plastics bag contain toxic chemicals which will negatively impact our environment when they are brunt, and these harmful by-products when released into the air, result Change the form of the verb resulting show examples in the gradual development of deadly diseases like cancer, and lung infections when people inhale them too frequently. The chemical also affects the fertility of the soil. As a result roots of plants may not be able to penetrate through plastic particles to get nutrients from the soil, and consequently growth of the crop will slow down leading to a reduced yield. Waste plastic bags are the main reason for trapping the drain and sewers especially, during rain. This result can cause flood-like situations, and disrupt the normal life of the people. In Conclusion, I'm in the favour of the argument that there should be regulation to ban the use of plastic as it has negative effects of our environment.