The best way to solve the world's enviromental prolem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Global environmental issues are extremely affecting the lives of mankind. Although, some people argue that oil price hike would eventually resolve these problems, I am of the belief that it's not just increasing the cost of fuel, but it should be a collective responsibility of individuals and the government. Firstly, the number one environmental problem the world is facing is the increasing amount of carbon dioxide emissions in the atmosphere. This is primarily due to the burning of fossil fuels which comes from the utilization of oil. Cars and other vehicles, for instance, use a great amount of petrol for transportation. With the considerable figures in the number of automobiles roaming around the streets, a significant rise in the exhaust fumes produced by this technology would further enhance the production of carbon dioxide. With this, an act to increase the cost of fuel would be a deterrent to the people. Secondly, individuals should be aware and be responsible enough so as not to aggravate the situation. For example, the use of power-saving technology is a good way to help conserve our nature. In addition, certain modern technologies should be turned off of disconnected to power supply if they are not in use because these uses fuel as well. Furthermore, there should be more stringent policies and rules that the government should be implementing especially for businessmen. To illustrate this, the total prohibition on the use of plastics by large supermarkets should be banned once and for all. As a result, this would immensely be of a great impact to our community. In summary, it is not only by increasing the cost of fuel our environmental problems can be solved, but with great understanding and responsibility of the society along with efforts from the government.