some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign languge. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

While It is thought by some that the major reason a foreign dialect is learnt is in other to travel or work in that land. Others, however, are of the opinion that there are several reasons. This essay will discuss both points of view and also explain why I think the latter is worth supporting than the former. On the one hand, travelling to work in a foreign land is not the main reason for learning another language. This is because after acquiring that knowledge the individual still needs to learn the culture in other to adapt effectively. For example, my sister, who can speak Arabic extremely well, had to practice the use of a hijab when she travelled to Saudi Arabia as that is part of their culture. Thus making it imperative that learning other languages aside from the mother tongue is not the only rationale for travelling or working in another country. On the other hand, there are several reasons for acquiring a different language from one's native tongue. On major benefit is that it gives one an edge over others. In other words, individuals are able to communicate easily with people because they can speak their dialect with ease. For instance, my son was able to complete his thesis at the university as an international student as he could speak French fluently and as such was translating for other students for a fee. So he made a lot of money to complete his thesis. In conclusion, although there are various arguments for and against whether the only reason to learn a foreign tongue is for touring or going for employment. I believe other reasons in terms of communication are merits. Therefore, the relevant authorities should encourage this practice.