The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved?

Nowadays, an increasing population is facing health problems because of obesity. It can be seen in the growth of overweight people in society. There are several reasons for this phenomenon, such as the change in lifestyles and the influence of advertising campaigns. To fight against obesity, some measures are needed to be taken by the governments and by ourselves. The first reason for obesity is that many people tend to have a sedentary lifestyle. Due to the development of technology, our lifestyles have been noticeably changed. In the past, we had to cycle or walk to work, whereas now we are able to choose from a wide variety of transport, such as private vehicles and buses. Besides, people are likely to watch TV or play computer games in front of screens to have fun and relax. The less physical activities they perform, the less healthy they are. Another reason for being increasingly overweight is that there are sorts of advertisements which encourage people to opt for fast food instead of home-cooked meals. It is difficult for people to reject advertised junk food such as high-fat food and sugary drinks because advertising companies utilize different methods to glorify them and make them seductive. Therefore, under the influence of these advertisements, people are encouraged to have an unhealthy diet. In order to resolve this problem, both the governments and people should take action to fight against it. On the one hand, the governments need to introduce laws to regulate advertisements and pose taxes on several kinds of junk foods. For example, the governments in some European countries increase the prices of sugary drinks. What's more, they are supposed to encourage people to choose more healthy lifestyles using public advertisements. On the other hand, people should raise awareness of having a more active lifestyle, such as doing physical activities, exercising regularly and eating more vegetables and fruits.