Task 2: Some people think secondary school students should learn international news as one of their subjects, while others believe that this is a waste of valuable time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no shortage of opinions on whether in school children should learn about international news as one of their subjects or not. But if I were forced to choose, I definitely would be against this class. However, there are some pros and cons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs. First of all, the main point against an update with a new class of international news is its uselessness. Young people can be really affected by stressful information that usually comes from media, and that is definitely not something their parents want from education. I believe better to add classes that will enhance logical thinking or will focus on self-improvement. For instance, it could be chess lessons. As I remember, India made chess classes mandatory and required each student to take them every week. As a result, kids constantly improve their wittiness and smartness, and therefore later will have the ability to make better decisions. So it is certainly clear to see why I think that watching the news can be a real waste of time. In contrast to the previous reason, in some occasions having some basic knowledge about international political and economical situations can be important. Moreover, if the lessons are structured correctly, children will receive information from which they can learn and increase their level of awareness. For example, after the horrible situation with the war in Ukraine started to escalate, some people in Europe decided to help refugees and don't leave the problem aside. But unfortunately, others still don't understand all the consequences of this war, and they might have another opinion if they have heard some international news earlier. For this reason, I believe that having a well-rounded education with some specific unusual classes can be also helpful. To sum up, in the light of the above-mentioned reasons, I want to emphasize that despite having a class on international news can take children's time from more crucial things, everyone should be aware of specific things such as geopolitics.