Many people believe that funding space exploration is important. To what extent do you agree?

With the rise in global warming, life on earth is becoming endangered. Many are of the opinion that more funding should be given to exploring other planets where humans can live. I happen to agree with them. To begin with, many people think that the earth will last forever, but this is not true. Like all things in our,universe the earth will also end. Due to the fact that as the sun ages it emits more heat which will make life on earth impossible. For this,reason we must explore other planets that humans can live on. For example, recent images from the Hubble space telescope revealed millions of galaxies which have human-friendly bodies of land. It would be wrong to not explore these options, as this can protect us from disaster. Secondly, natural reserves of energy such as fossil fuels and coal are no longer able to keep up with the world's energy demands. Exploring space can help provide a solution to this. For example, recent images from ultrasound waves showed large reserves of methane gas on nearby planets which can last for hundreds of years. So finding methods which would allow us to extract them would have great value. To conclude, both the fact that the earth will not last and natural reserves of energy are decreasing make valid arguments for funding methods to explore space.