Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write your response not less than 250 words

Many companies insist on appropriate clothing for their employees. However, there are certain offices that do not expect to be formally attired at any given time. Although many organizations expect formal wear, in my opinion, the outcome of the job is more important and dressing depends on two factors such as job role requirements and it should be left at one's own discretion if not required out of the job role. Firstly, it is believed that the " first impression" is the last impression. Hence most offices insist their employees, who are either on client sites or attending customers in-house, be dressed smartly. This helps companies build their reputation in the market. For example, people working in the sales teams are always in either suits or knee-length skirts and blouses. Secondly, sometimes workers do like to keep themselves presentable, in spite of not falling under the category of client-facing. They do so because they perceive that if they remain neat, the day-to-day activities get accomplished quickly while dealing with others. For instance, most of the receptionists are implicitly expected to wear smart attire along with make-up. Finally, and I agree, that the gradation of the job is based on one's own task achievement. Therefore it is more important to pay more attention to the result than the get-up of an employee. To illustrate, all IT employees are rarely in formal apparel as it is not the requirement of their job. Another point is some workshops undertake dangerous activities. So employees should wear their clothes cautiously. Bodyshops do not allow to wear silky, long and hanging clothes sheer out for safety purposes. Lastly, some of the women colleagues, irrespective of their job nature, will prefer to wear makeup along with smart clothes. An example would be the ladies from the Philippines are always in a presentable way as it is in their culture. In conclusion, although many workplaces reiterate wearing formal dresses to look smart at work, there are certain offices that focus on performance. In my opinion, I agree that wearing a formal dress is essential however that should be decided by the role of one's job; and also at one's own discretion when work duties do not need to do so too.