The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is still controversial whether implementing a higher fuel fee is the best solution to the worldwide issue of the environment. While some people oppose this point of view, I partly agree with it. In this essay, I will delve deep into both sides of the argument and give out my logical conclusion. On the one hand, there is a school of thought objecting to this opinion. To elucidate, people disapproving of this idea would argue that there may be some better ways to tackle the international environmental problem. One possible alternative is that the government should provide citizens with proper knowledge about the environment and its importance to human life. Therefore, people would be more conscious of preserving the environment. On the other hand, I hold the belief that phasing in an increase in fuel cost would be the best solution to address the worldwide environmental issue. As a matter of fact, a higher fuel fee could act as a deterrent, which may discourage drivers from using their private vehicles such as cars or motorbikes. Consequently, there would be fewer exhaust fumes released into the environment, thus helping to improve the air quality in particular as well as the environment in general. For example, the Vietnam government has recently implemented a tax rise on fuel, which has decreased the proportion of private vehicle drivers by 20%. In conclusion, although other measures to tackle the international problem of the environment could be advantageous to some extent, I would argue that raising the cost of fuel would be the most effective way to address this issue.