Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. Therefore, it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some, it is unnecessary to update news in newspapers or television programs because it has no involvement in people’s lives. To a certain extent, I disagree with this point of view and this essay will give further explanations. On the one hand, there are some relatively useless genres of news but the public is paying too much attention to them. Firstly, the media reports a tremendous amount of information on celebrities on a daily basis in order to meet the demands of many young people, even when the news is worthless. In fact, many adolescents are intrigued by the scandal of a rap star or the marriage of two famous singers whereas it has no connection with their lives and evidently makes no benefit to them. Secondly, there is more and more bad news with sensational titles and controversial content that have no other aim than to attract views. For example, it might be entertaining to read or watch the news about a jealous assault in public but it is clear that this sort of information has no value. On the other hand, the public can take significant advantage of news in many respects. First of all, people can broaden their general knowledge by watching or reading reliable sources of news. As society continuously evolves, so does humanity's knowledge; therefore, without reading or watching the news, the understanding of the public will be out of date and insufficient. In addition, several news have practical benefits and relate directly to the public. For example, some health bulletins give important information about the location of dengue fever outbreaks as well as viable protection from mosquitoes so that the residents can be aware of the threat they are facing in order to make appropriate preparations. In conclusion, although many young people nowadays are focusing on redundant news about celebrities or sensational stories, i believe that there are certainly numerous news that are helpful and closely related to the public.