Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Many kids allocate a large amount of time to their smartphones daily. There are various factors contributing to this phenomenon. From my perspective, this trend has detrimental effects on children's mental and physical health. To begin with, due to technological development, youngsters are fascinated by the novelty that these mobile devices bring about. There are various new and interesting things that kids have never seen before on smartphones, thus continuously being absorbed in these tools. To explicate, mobile phones offer users easy access to all sorts of information and entertainment. For example, it is Youtube videos that lure kids to spend hours watching. In addition, another main cause of this issue is the hectic lifestyle. Parents are so preoccupied with their work that they do not have time to look after their offspring. Therefore, mobile phones can be used as tools to draw the attention of children, otherwise, kids will cry and disturb adults from their business. As a consequence, children will become addicted to these devices and stick to them in the future. On the other hand, the trend is harmful to both psychological and physical well-being. Overuse of mobile phones may lead to various health problems such as obesity and shortsightedness. Since children constantly stare at the phone screen, their eyes are likely to be negatively affected by the blue light and myopia is inevitable. Besides, lack of exercise can result in fat piling up in the body, which leads to weight gain and heart disease. Furthermore, invisible phone signal is said to have disadvantageous impacts on children's long-term memory. For instance, kids who interact with smartphones from an early age have a smaller brain size. Also, the ability to logically think is worsened as children can have every information at their disposal. In conclusion, there are various reasons accounting for this development. In my opinion, I argue that the spreading usage of smartphones among kids is harmful and parents should limit their children's dependence on these devices.