There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that student should only study their main subjects to achieve an academic success and they do not need to study other subjects. I think this will make students be difficult to cope with their daily life and pose a threat to their health, although they may have more job opportunities. The young will not have time to kick back if all the non-academic courses disappear. Nowadays, young people are busy with their compulsory classes and they even can not have a rest. So the other courses, such as music class or painting class can be a good time for them to relax. If these subjects are diminished, students will be more tired and the lack of rest will present a challenge to their health, especially their mental health. They may have a depression and the depression will finally damage their physical health -- they may try to kill themselves! This opinion may also lead to a lack of life experience and then students can not live a good life when they are mature and they require to live on their own. Unacademic classes can teach students how to solve the problems they may meet in daily life. if they have never learnt about this knowledge, they can not live a happy life alone. For instance, if they have never studied cookery, cooking by themselves will be impossible for them. Then they may have to eat fast food and live an unhealthy life. However, that view has its own advantages. Young people who only study main classes may have more vocational opportunities than others. Most companies only lay emphasis on students ' specialised skills. And everyone has 24 hours per day, so if young people spend all their time on compulsory courses, they will study their main subjects for a longer time than those who spend part of their time on other subjects. As a result, it is more probable for them to get higher scores in academic subjects, which is considered as the symbol of owning better-specialised abilities. Then, companies are willing to give them jobs. To sum up, if we remove all the non-academic subjects, young people may be more likely to find a job. However, this will cause damage to their mental health and it may be difficult for them to live alone.