Some people think that as long as professional sportsmen and sportswomen are good players, their behavior on and off the paying fields is not important. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been a controversy about whether professional sportsmen's behaviour on and off the playing fields is not important as long as they are good players. I think their behaviour is also vital, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First and foremost. Their behaviour has some social impacts. Take Diego Armando Maradona as an example. On the field, he was an excellent player. He won the world cup in 1996. However, he had never been considered a role model on account of his behaviour off the field, such as snorting drugs and going to nightclubs. Nevertheless, due to his huge achievements, many young players treat him as an idol, and they imitate his style. Such a situation is one of the reasons why the self-control of players from South American countries is weak. Another example is Lebron James. As we know, he was born into a poor family; his father jilted him and his mother when he was a child. However, after he achieves success in NBA, he stays loyal to his wife and family. It's worth mentioning that he has donated over 800 million dollars to help the local kids. In this case, he uses his influence to help people who need help, and he plays well the role of a role model. Second, players ' behaviour will affect themselves as well. For instance, Wayne Mark Rooney was one of the best football players; however, he was ruined by his weak self-discipline. It was reported that he had an obesity-prone physique; in other words, he could gain weight fast. Hence, he should pay more attention to his diet, but he didn't; he ate Fast food all the time. As a result, it became difficult to do those actions, and he eventually left Manchester United Football Club. In conclusion, athletes' behaviour is influential in our society and themselves.