Many young people say that mobile phones are the most important object that they own. Does the popularity of mobile phones among young people have more advantages or disadvantages?

In contemporary society, there is a rising amount of young individuals who argue that cellular phones are the most crucial object that they own. Personally, I strongly believe that this approach has more drawbacks than advantages. Firstly, mobile phones might be harmful and, secondly, they may reduce personal contact. It cannot be denied, that everyday use of smartphones may deteriorate people´s well-being. The phones themselves emit radiation and what is more the majority of nowadays smartphones are consistently connected to the internet, which enhances the radiation markedly. Linked to this, using smartphones permanently, may alter people´s health. For instance, a huge evidence-based article was recently published by The University of Cambridge, which argues that using smartphones before sleep, alters the central nervous system considering the screens are very bright. To elaborate this further, the levels of hormones necessary for proper sleep deteriorate, which subsequently might be a source of other health issues. Moreover, the study argues that the fertility of younger generations has been decreasing rapidly on account of cell phones. Additionally, I firmly believe, that mobile phones with a vast number of different communication applications have decreased crucial face-to-face interactions dramatically. Moreover, dependence on such devices is built frighteningly easily, which may again have a damaging effect on mental health, and communication skills and encourage a sedentary lifestyle. For instance, the majority of young men are not able to call a girl they like for dinner personally, but just through a message. To conclude, from the aforementioned examples, mobile phones may have a serious impact on an individual’s physical health as well as communication skills.