It has been suggested that everyone in the world wants to own a car, a TV, and a fridge. Do you think the disadvantages of such a development outweigh the advantages?

Having necessities such as a car, a television and a refrigerator leads to a strong desire for people. Some argue that it is not beneficial to the environment since those products can not be easily handled at disposal, it is definitely more advantageous for two reasons: convenience and efficiency. Some people may argue that it is environmentally harmful to have electronic products since cars, televisions and fridges consist of some indisposable materials such as plastics, there would be environmental destruction. It is true that such materials can only be disposed of by burying underground or burning, which results in land pollution and emission of harmful chemicals into the atmosphere respectively. However, recently, those products are recycled in order to protect the environment. For instance, the old car is disassembled, and each part is cleaned and newly reproduced to be used again. Considering those environmental issues, the reason that these products outweigh the negativity is undefeatable. This is because people can not only save their time but also conduct a smarter way of living. Technology advances such as the invention of the car create a simpler lifestyle. They can conveniently live daily life by utilising those products. An obvious example is that a long-distance is no longer a difficulty when riding a car, and by watching television, people can access urgent news whenever they want, otherwise waiting for the newspaper is compulsory. Furthermore, the development brings smarter patterns, such as keeping their food in a fridge, meaning there is a reduction in the waste of food. In conclusion, those products are not as environmentally disadvantageous as people consider; therefore, crucial benefits are dominant for convenience and efficiency.