2. In many countries the cost of living is rising. What are the effects on individuals and society? What measures can be taken to deal with this problem

It is true that the living expense in many nations is on the increase. There are some drawbacks that this development brings about and several solutions should be adopted to resolve this issue. To begin with, rising living cost results in two main disadvantages. On an individual scale, people with low income might find their living standards worsen if the living cost keeps rising. As a matter of fact, those people could be unable to afford their basic necessities such as food or clothes if the prices of these necessities increase. Consequently, they might have to make cutbacks on other vital aspects such as education or health care to spend their finite budgets on these necessities in order to survive, thus decreasing the quality of their life. On a societal scale, some social issues might occur due to the increase in living expenses. In reality, the illiteracy rate could increase as people are unable to afford education fees. Therefore, the academic standard of the nation could be negatively affected. I hold the belief that some effective measures are required to address the issue of the rising cost of living. Firstly, the government should allocate national budgets to help impoverished citizens cover their living expenses. For example, the Vietnam government has policies to spend money to support its inhabitants in the fields of education and health care. Secondly, a reduction in taxes on basic necessities such as food is required as it will help people to make ends meet more easily and allow them to spend more on personal purposes, thereby improving the quality of their life. In conclusion, the increase in living expenses has some negative effects on people and some solutions are needed to tackle this problem.