Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people claim governments should spend money to encourage people to do sports, rather than training athletes for the Olympic games. I do agree with that statement because although high-level sports have a good impact on thepopulation, thanks to the government's benefits, people can stay healthy, in good mental health and reduce obesity. My first argument is that doing sports activities encourages balanced mental health because of the endorphins our body generates. For example, after running, even if your legs are aching, it boosts your morale. It helps as well, people to stay in shape, which is very important in the stressful lives we are living today, in which our bodies are prioritized. Therefore, people need more time or more places to do some sports to relax. For instance, in big cities, people waste a lot of time commuting in traffic jams. So, governments should invest in some more aery places and gardens in those urban areas, to allow people to do exercises after work, to make them feel mentally balanced. It would be a way to show its commitment to its citizens' well-being. Moreover, obesity is the main issue of our century and one of the solutions to reduce this problem is sports. As an aside, these days, more and more children stay in front of screens instead of doing outside activities, which makes them become obese. So, governments need to finance health programs, like sports campaigns during school holidays, to encourage them to move. However, spending money on training athletes for the Olympic games is important too. Indeed, people can identify themselves with those sports competitors and take them as models. For instance, children are fans of football or basketball players. It can also unify a whole nation and the pride of winning medals. In conclusion, whilst spending money on training athletes for the Olympics is a good thing for the public, I believe that governments should invest in some more sporting areas or sports campaigns to reduce mental disorders and obesity.