It is important for children to learn what is right and what is wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn the distinction. To what extent do you agree? What sort of punsihment should be given?

Children are moulded according to their surroundings, and it is essential that they learn to differentiate between good and bad at a very young age. I partially agree with the idea of punishing them in order to teach a lesson; in fact, it should depend on the kind of mistake made. In this essay, I will outline how punishments can deter teenagers from doing a wrong act again and will explain some of the ways in which parents and teachers can punish kids. To begin with, undoubtedly, punishing children can bring a change in their behaviour because they tend to learn from their mistakes. For instance, if a child bullies another kid at school, and he/she is taught a proper lesson then it is highly likely that he/she will not dare to repeat the act. Although it is necessary, I firmly believe harsh punishments can sometimes have the opposite effect. As a result, some kids learn to hide their deeds from their parents which can further lead to distraction from the right path and they can head towards the wrong one; hence, considering the right methods of punishment is vital. In my view, the person in authority should judge a child's act based on its severity. If it is okay to just scold and let go, then be it as there is no need to punish them every time they make a mistake. Apart from this, softer methods of punishment are a better way to improve their behavioural issues. Detention, grounding, withholding allowances and not allowing them to play video games are a few ways that can ensure improvement in their attitude and may encourage them to do good in the future. Moreover, children imitate what they see and if parents model good behaviour, the problem can be solved to a greater extent. In conclusion, despite the fact that punishments deter children from doing wrong acts, I believe, that being aware of the kind of punishments given can only help in bringing a behavioural change, or else it can backfire. Therefore, it is absolutely necessary to punish them appropriately.