In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Recently, the profound impact of words of encouragement on the childhood period has been widely acknowledged. Some nations nurture their offspring while telling them that they can fulfil all of their dreams through dedicated work. In the following lines, both advantages and disadvantages will be further scrutinized before reaching a reasonable conclusion. On the one hand, positive reinforcements have a plethora of advantages for young generations in both psychological and economic aspects. The most important of which is the establishment of self-esteem. To illustrate this, when juveniles are nurtured in a healthy familiar atmosphere that supports their decisions, they will develop the confidence that will help them to exert their utmost efforts to reach their goals. An eminent example of this is Japan which allocated a substantial bulk of their national income for subsidizing schools that support the next generations, and in return, nowadays, they witnesses one of the strongest generations. Moreover, this trend offers children quintessential elements to broaden their horizons by motivating them to do their best; consequently, countries' economies will prosper with these laborious hands. Thus, as long as young generations are pushed forward, the whole world will be constructively built in the future. On the other hand, this tendency may demonstrate some disadvantages in terms of exaggerations. This is because if children are allowed to adopt the notion that everything is applicable without pragmatic borders, they will inevitably be victims of depression and despair when they face real world challenges. For instance, international companies would rather recruit employees with viable methods to tackle any issue rather than their counterparts who would daydream about their ambitions. Furthermore, a category of children might employ this mindset and adopt rebelious attitudes eventually. Hence, what can be said is that this motivative upbringing has negatives, albeit minor in case parents and guardians did not direct their children correctly. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the above-mentioned points, it can be reiterated that whilst a positive upbringing has profound outcomes as future generations will have enough courage to tackle the problems that are encountered, some negatives may be brought about. It is recommended that not only do guardians commit their duty towards their offspring, but the governments also have to participate and fund families and educational institutions.