Some people think that the parents of children who commit crime should also receive a punishment. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that guardians of kids who perform an illegal act should take responsibility in terms of a certain penalty as well. In my opinion, this approach would be able to significantly reduce the crime incidence. First and foremost, adults should be highly interested in the lifestyle of their offspring. To clarify, greater attention must be paid to the emotional well-being, whether they are exposed to any abuse or have emotional instability. While some parents do not consider inner stability as an important factor for shaping personality, indeed, this may lead to such unlawful acts as murder, assault and even drug possession. Thus, governments may impose fines and even imprisonment sentences, to fight juvenile crimes more effectively. Personally, I believe that, if the number and amount of penalties are increased for both teenagers and their ancestors, the crime level would remarkably fall in a few decades. Secondly, it is considered that descendants are the ones who should be blamed for underage violations, since youngsters are not independent and they are likely to imitate their family behaviours regularly. In this case, parents encourage lawbreaking at home, which tends to impact their descendants in a negative way, leading to petty hooliganism. Next, minor misconduct will turn into a serious offence. To illustrate, according to McKinsey research conducted in 2013, nearly 75% of children born and raised in violent families ended up in prison later in life. In conclusion, a number of people support the idea that authorities should take anti-crime measures for youngsters in terms of imposing the proper sentence on their progenitors. Personally, I strongly agree with this idea, as I believe it could significantly contribute to reducing crime rates.