Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the modern-day, there is an increase in the number of populations with medical problems utilizing alternative approaches rather than consulting with their doctors. There may be positive financial effects on substitutes, however, I believe it will cause a negative impact on an individual’s health. Most often, folks with mild signs and symptoms of a certain disease attempt to self-medicate. While this often provides mild relief, people will most likely overlook the main cause of their illness and possible complication. For instance, in the Philippines, guava leaves are used as antibiotics for superficial abrasions. Yes, it can serve as prophylaxis, but not as empirical treatment. In most cases, the superficial wounds would worsen and be converted to deeper wounds further penetrating the skin, muscle or bones. This severity would have been prevented if given proper treatment in the first place. In addition, the use of alternatives is usually of the older population’s belief passed down from generation to generation. Although most have been proven ineffective by science, some are still practised today. To illustrate this, some children with asthma in the Philippines are forced to drink a concoction of bugs boiled in water because it is believed to cure it. In my opinion, this will just delay the treatment of the child. Therefore, I think older adults must be educated in order for them to understand the advancement of technology and improvements in health treatments based on evidence. On the contrary, it is a fact that these alternative methods are way cheaper. To be exact, herbal plants can usually be found anywhere at no cost. Some might even find different alternative plants commonly mistaken as weeds. However, I still believe that proper treatment and evaluation from doctors should be invested early on because the people will suffer much more economically should there be complications. To summarize, most populations with health problems seek other forms of treatment because of old beliefs and practices as well as economic reasons. While some benefits and the low cost of these techniques are not dismissed, I think seeking a doctor’s advice is more cost-effective and a wiser choice. Therefore, seeking alternative medicine and treatment is a negative development for society.