Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face Is this a positive or negative development?

With the advancement of technology, socialising online has become a norm. Connecting socially on virtual platforms is preferable by some compared to meeting physically. However, in my opinion, socialising online brings negative impacts, while meeting physically is a healthier option. The unfavourable complications of socialising over the internet are numerous. Firstly, it impedes the social skills needed in communication, especially in the young population. For example, children have been mostly glued to their gadget screens during social gatherings leading to poor soft skills. Secondly, the Internet is not safe such as in cases of catfishing. For instance, older men can present themselves as beautiful young women on social platforms. Moreover, virtual reality makes the community pressured to get validation from others. It also makes cyberbullying more rampant from negative comments by others online. Consequently, it has become the precursor to mental health disturbances. In contrast, meeting a crowd physically is better. The connection is usually less superficial and in-depth, and society can develop a stronger bond. A recent survey found that relationships built on face-to-face interaction have a longer-lasting bond. Furthermore, socialising physically helps improve communication skills by having main body language during interactions. This can also be seen among children in schools and adults in offices, helping the brain develop better social skills. On top of that, meeting physically allows for activities like having meals, movies and sports together. This is healthier for physical and mental wellbeing. In conclusion, if socialising online increases, fewer physical interactions might occur, which will negatively impact how we bond with others. Therefore, in my opinion, if this trend increases, it will become a worrying issue, especially among the younger generation.