Many people work long hours leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages over disadvantages?

In this contemporary world, many individuals are engaging with their work all day which leads to insufficient time for enjoyment. Although there is merit to long working hours, I think the drawbacks outweigh the benefit. To start with, the main disadvantage is that much of the employee’s precious time that should be enjoyed with his family would be gone. This is because employees usually prioritize their work and it will take years before they recognise the mistake and start to take action against it. For example, people should spare some time to take a vacation and have a trip with their families. Thus, people would grow old without enough memories with their families. Moreover, working long hours for many years may cause fatigue and one day this person would reach his limit and quit his job because each person has a certain limit to tolerate the heavy duties at work and cannot work any further. To illustrate, I have a friend of mine who was working in Dubai in a well-known company for years. Although she was holding a high position at that company, she quit after 4 years of continuous work and returned back to her home country. Hence, an unemployed person who lost a job he hardly worked for years. To conclude, nowadays people spend most of their daily life at their workplace leaving nothing for leisure. This might have an advantage but I believe the disadvantages are more serious and its effect may be irreversible in the foreseen future.