Today, TV channels provide men’s sport shows more than women’s sports shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

These days, the number of men’s sports shows being broadcasted is much higher than those of women’s. It is because sports played by men gain more attention from communities than those of their opposite gender and I believe that programme producers should give equal opportunities for men’s sports shows and women’s sports shows. It is clear that many more people lean towards men’s sports programmes rather than those of their female counterparts, which ends up making these shows get more investments from producers. It is because they not only bring many profits from viewership but also from advertisements and donations. Let's take matches of the male Vietnam national football team as an example. Each ninety – minutes match attracts millions of viewers, let alone the huge money that VTV company could earn from advertisements shown during break times. Meanwhile, there are not as many people who would like to watch female football matches even though the female athletes performed. admirably. Giving men’s sport a higher priority is, therefore, a wise strategy to earn large profits and attract more investment. Nevertheless, I believe that women’s sports shows should be given equal opportunities. Firstly, if this situation continues to happen, the gender inequality, which is already a warning problem in some parts of the world, could get worse. Female athletes deserve to be treated as fairly as their male counterparts. Moreover, in recent years many more people enjoy watching women’s sports shows and are willing to show their support. TV channels should cater for this trend and consider investing more in sports programmes played by women. In conclusion, TV channels are giving men’s sports shows a higher priority than those of women because of their vast number of viewers and of large incomes from advertising contracts. However, women’s sports shows should get the equal investments, so that we can reduce gender disparity issues and provide a variety of programmes which cater for a wider audience.