Although it is generally illegal, physical punishment continues in many countries. Some argue that parents should have the right to punish their children in this way. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that in some areas, physical punishment still exists despite it being abandoned in the majority of countries because some people argue that physical punishment is one of their legitimacy to guide their offspring. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with the statement and the following essay will illustrate the reasons for my view. There are several factors to explain why I have an opposite opinion about corporal punishment. To begin with, punishing children in this way extremely affects children ’s mental health. Although it seems that the punishment is physical, it might lead to the consequence of children living a tense lifestyle. Therefore, it is easy for kids to accumulate a significant amount of pressure in their minds but they do not know how to release them. In addition, parents usually perform as the younger generation’s role models. If children have suffered severe corporal punishment from their father or mother, it has a tendency that they would behave the same to the next generation. As a result, a vicious circle occurs. In terms of the validity of physical punishment, much research has shown that it is not an efficient approach to correct teenagers’ behaviours. While children do not comprehensively understand why they are punished, they frequently commit the same behaviours. By contrast, if parents could teach children by heart instead of with a stick, the younger generation would have more opportunities to release and distinguish what is right and wrong. For example, my parents always explained the reason to me and educated me when I was a child. Hence, I can fully understand why I did wrong and prevent myself from doing it again. In conclusion, I disagree with physical punishment because it considerably influences children ’s mental health and it is not valid.