In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this

Economic growth is the main focus of many governments. While economic growth provides many benefits to citizens, such as better public services and a stronger defence system, it is also the source of many problems, such as the overuse of natural resources and pollution. On the one hand, prioritising economic growth can increase a country's GDP, which can be used to buy and develop new advanced weaponry. This can make their borders safer and more secure. For instance, India is buying more missiles from other nations, like Russia and the US, to enhance its military power to tackle terrorist attacks. Additionally, focusing on economic development generates significant funds that can be used to improve public services, such as better healthcare and transport systems. Hence, elevates people's living standards. Since people have access to the best treatments in hospitals and the low cost of public transport allows them to save extra money, which they can spend on other daily needs. For example, in Canada, people have access to publicly funded healthcare and a cheaper public transport system, thereby saving a significant amount of money for personal use. However, concentrating solely on economic development also creates many problems. Firstly, achieving economic growth in any country requires more industries, which is a leading cause of increased pollution. These industries directly release the polluted air and tons of non-biodegradable waste into natural resources. For example, the capital of India, the country's leading industrial city, has worse air quality than other cities. Moreover, economic growth also increases inflation. Rapidly rising demand often outpaces supply, leading to demand-pull inflation and higher consumer costs. To conclude, while economic growth brings many benefits, such as better public services and a stronger army, its negative impacts, such as the risk of higher inflation and pollution, cannot be neglected.