In some countries, few young people go to musical concerts or performances at the theatres. Why is this the case, should young people be encouraged to participate in musicals and other types of performance.

In certain nations, it has been noted that a small number of adults visit musical shows or displays at the theatre, this is so because of the influence of modern music and idols. However, I think the young generation should be supported to partake in kinds of songs and other various events in order to keep the culture of the country alive. To begin with, the main reason behind the decline in the population of young people going to musical concerts or performances is the influence of new music on them. This is owing to the fact that the younger generation loves the genres of songs that are currently released by the new age artist, and also the style of beating in which the song flows. They also love the noise generated while listening to the playlist, and so feel that the contemporary music is too monotonous and slow for their liking. Another point worth noting is that the youngsters take the recent musicians as their idols because their way of living, dressing and the type of songs they release is according to their own way of life. Davido the afrobeat singer for instance is seen by many teenagers as their role model owing to the fact that his lifestyle is something that they love and his song is a vibe for them. Hence displays at the theatre are seen as old-fashioned by young adults and contemporary artists do not understand their body language. However, keeping the tradition of the nation going is the major factor in motivating the younger generation in contributing to the music industry and other performances. This means most of the musical and theatre performances are cultural displays and help in connecting the people to what has been set up by their ancestors as such if they do not participate to take up from where the older generation stopped, the culture of the nation will die out thus leading to a lot of mistakes. For example, a report carried out by the daily magazine revealed that many youths do not understand the traditions of their land following musical festivals. To reiterate, in as much as modern songs and artist has influenced the lifestyle of the young people, the tradition of the country should not be allowed to disappear and so the youths should be encouraged to partake in the music industry and performances of different event.