Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree?

There is no doubt that science subjects, such as maths and philosophy are often not easy for some school children. Therefore, many people advocate the need to optionalize these courses. I firmly disagree and will argue the need for children to develop calculative and ideological skills. The main point to consider is the level of development globally. With the current rate of technology, the need for scientific knowledge is crucial in school curriculum, in order to prepare school kids for the outside world challenges. As the world evolves, the essence of mathematical knowledge is becoming more obvious. for instance, the wide introduction of robot activities in recent years, was achieved through mathematical technology. Besides, most things learnt in arts educational program such as knitting can be done with the help of developed types of equipment. Next is the ability of verbal and quantitative, to think fast and to gain insight and knowledge of philosophy. Most children would rather draw and get creative than be engaged in some algebra fractions, which can often develop laziness and hinder the ability to be calculative. Moreover, learning about philosophical topics could increase their ethical thinking and morally strengthen their views of values. subsequently, calculations are part of human daily life and activities, and without enough knowledge, it is easy to feel left out. In conclusion, in spite of difficulties in learning some subjects, like maths and philosophy, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. therefore, it is essential to include them in the curricula as obligatory subjects.