In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In some parts of the world, building or buying one's home permanently is preferred over renting one. The reasons for this range from the economic benefits and stability it brings to the social status it confers on a person. I believe it is an advantageous situation considering the advantages it brings. There are several reasons people in some countries find owning their homes more valuable than renting. Firstly, it brings a lot of economic benefits, particularly in the long term. Following that the annual or monthly rental payment will be saved upon the completion of one's home. For example, I have saved a total of one thousand USD that would have been my rental cost for three years as a result of owning my home in 2019. Secondly, it provides stability. That is, the need to scout for a home every other year will be eliminated. Finally, in Nigeria here, it improves a person's social status by being recognized as 'a landlord'. In my opinion, I think owning a home is a favourable situation as it helps save rental costs and eradicates the harassment house owners usually met their tenants. For instance, in rented apartments, the occupants are usually bound by a tenancy agreement that limits them in a number of ways. However, in an individual's own home, there is so much freedom and usually no restriction to the use of the building. In conclusion, the benefits that come from being a homeowner such as stability, financial savings and social recognition are some of the reasons I consider it a positive achievement and why it is deemed important in some countries.