Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is indubitable that technology has been legally and illegally utilized to monitor individuals’ behaviour. Some people may not be conscious of being kept under surveillance. Therefore, the government should attach importance to this issue. In my opinion, I strongly suggest that its drawbacks are more than benefits and I am going to elaborate on my perspectives in the following paragraphs. Taking advantage of technology to watch humankind may be conducive to maintaining public order. For example, as criminal incidents happen, the police are able to use surveillance cameras to launch an investigation on the whereabouts of criminals. Another instance is that the government, during the period of the coronavirus pandemic, can regularly track the footprints of people who have close contact with confirmed cases by apps. Hence, it seems that making good use of technology to monitor individuals is beneficial to protecting society and promoting safety. However, using technology to monitor humankind has negative impacts as well. The major disadvantage is that humans are usually in the dark while being watched. For instance, parts of countries throughout the world often use security cameras and websites to secretly brainwash citizens to further consolidate their regime. Secondly, if the enforcement administrations abuse the technology without regulations to spy on the offenders, their human rights may be infringed wantonly. Lastly, hackers often secretly use the Internet to swindle people out of personal information. If we do not immediately pay attention to those problems, our society would be threatened in the long term. To sum up, it is apparent that the downsides exceed the upsides when we use technology to watch individuals. Accordingly, the government ought to set up a comprehensive law to prevent any malicious monitoring against people and further champion their human rights. After all, protecting us on our own from being violated when necessary is no ground for blame.