Today, many people do not know their neighbors in large cities. What problems does this cause? What can be done about this?

Nowadays, it has become quite a common phenomenon in urban areas that little intimacy is happening between people and hardly even do they know each other in their neighbourhood. In this essay, the problems aroused with this trend, followed by solutions and a conclusion will be discussed. To begin with, less intimacy in the neighbourhood will unintentionally be a safety risk for the residents in certain situations. To illustrate, if something urgent or dangerous such as a burglary or a fire disaster happened, the residents wouldn’t be able to call for help without knowing the contact of their neighbours. Besides, people in this modern era have been working overwhelmingly to make both ends meet, making themselves considerably stressful. Being isolated without communication with anyone after a long exhausting day is likely to worsen their mental health. Turning to the other side, there are several solutions that could be taken to solve the problems mentioned above. First of all, a group chat should be created online using social media platforms such as Facebook, WhatsApp and skype so that every tenant stays more connected thereby eliminating the hidden risks described above. Furthermore, a community gathering or party should be conducted weekly or at least once a month to ensure intimacy between the co-neighbours by letting them open up their feelings and exchange some perspectives. This will also significantly buffer their mental health from getting worse. In conclusion, various measures should be taken to prevent this trend from bringing harm to our society.