Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a possitive or negative development?

Shopping is one way for people, nowadays, to spend their free time. However, several shopping retails have gone closed in the previous years. There are quite some reasons why this trend is existing. To my thinking, this phenomenon is either advantageous and disadvantageous. Firstly, the increasing number of business competitors in the market make it hard for someone to cope up with the popularity and marketable of their products. This would result for consumers to be skeptical of what to purchase. In addition, they would be thinking of trying out new goods and services offered by other shops. For example, Forever21 has undergone closure in some cities because of the emergence of other retail shops competing for the same services they are providing. Secondly, because of the current situation we are in, people's purchasing power has declined recently due to the pandemic. The reason for this is: getting laid off or fired from work. With this, an individual's capacity to buy from high street shops is affected. Thereby, reducing their expenditure on stuffs that are not really necessary, instead of buying important commodities that would serve them and save them funds. As a result, shops will ultimately lose customers and would have a considerable impact on their profits which can ultimately be the reason for such closure. In conclusion, to my thinking, this trend has drawbacks for business owners because the opportunity to expand their market is lowered. However, for consumers, this is one way for them to save money and spend it on more essential and basic items.