All children should be given a free laptop when they start high school. Do you agree or disagree?

A laptop is an essential device for the 21st century, and all high school students should own one without any cost. This essay agrees with this statement because a free laptop is important for a pupil to attend online classes, and conduct independent research. As technology is advancing at a rapid pace in today’s world, many classes are being held virtually, and access to a proper device is compulsory for students to catch up with the lessons. Online education provides great benefits to learners because they can study at their own pace regardless of any circumstances or where they are situated. For example, in 2020, during the COVID-19 pandemic, education was shifted virtually, and students were required to attend school online from the comfort of their own homes, to reduce the risk of infections. In addition, access to laptops gives learners the ability to perform their own research to expand upon their existing knowledge. Academy often assigns tasks for students to complete to gain credits for their grades, and most assignments require deep research and exploration. Independent research immensely helps students to widen their understanding and to think critically and logically with thorough reasoning. For instance, a study found that 80% of students who use Google for research purposes tend to have a broader understanding of particular topics than those who don't. In conclusion, freshmen in high school ought to be gifted a computer because it is crucial for attending virtual courses and developing a better comprehension of certain topics through the conduction of research.