Some people think that all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

When looking at the recent crime statistics, there has been heated debate over using the law to discipline people. Some may believe that serving jail time is vital to correct people, while others are against the idea. This essay will further elaborate on both sides of this headway with some relevant examples. To begin with, flocks who are voted to lock up the misbehaviours always think about the safety of their loved ones. To cite an example, there is a high likelihood of a murderer taking away another soul without any hesitation. Hence, these kinds of people should not be walking around their free will. According to the world bank data depicted, there is more than a 60% probability of securing a community by putting lawbreakers into prison. On the other hand, such action is used to promote awareness and mitigate future crimes. Police around the world have indicated, irrespective of the magnitude of the unlawful action, spending at least a day in prison discourages future involvement. However, according to psychologists, prisoners' are suffering from long-term mental disorders like depression due to isolation. Moreover, living in a cell with some basic necessities has impacted their physical health. The facts from the Oxford University study illustrated that using alternative methods to recorrect an individual has a positive outcome for society. For instance, a robber can be sent to a correction centre and taught moral values. Furthermore, giving a warning and educating the wrongdoer about the consequences of bad behaviours. To sum up, a country's juridical system is there to protect the citizens, whereas its rules and regulations should clearly define the punishments. In my mind, individuals who are going against the law have to be punished based on the severity of the act.