The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that the increasing number of traffic accidents caused by unsafe drivers; and therefore, harsher punishments must apply to control the rate of undesired events on the streets for residents. I entirely concur with this view, but to consider it as the only solution, in my opinion, does not seem perfectly reasonable as there are many effective methods that could be taken. It is no doubt that stricter punishments could enhance the safety of drivers and pedestrians on the roads. Traffic joiners tend to be afraid of disciplines, including losing money, doing complex administration, or even being confiscated personal transport. So, they are likely to comply with the law and take more responsibility for their driving. For instance, one intendedly drives higher than the accepted speed, which causes many severe problems for himself and undesired effects on others. Nevertheless, there are several measurements that could bring benefits to residents, compared to the mentioned above solution. Firstly, to track ongoing activities on the road, surveillance cameras could be applied to build the conscious actions of people. In addition, those motion videos are exported that prompt people to self-control and protect personal images to their families. In developed countries such as China or Korea, for example, the government has installed follow-functional equipment along the streets to track the illegal movements of their citizens. Secondly, to improve the quality of the grid of streets, not only based on the residents but also depended on the government’s plan to transform the road system. In this way, the state-of-the-art grids could be updated, such as more signs and dividing more separated lanes for various means. To illustrate it, the main street could be classified as pedestrians, bicycles, motorbikes, cars and buses, railways, and the like, which could assist the drivers to move faster and reduce accidents as well as jams during peak hours. In conclusion, although punishments ease to be applied and give instant results for traffic resolution, I believe that there are many reasonable strategies for reducing the attraction issues.