In the future, all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think that the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology has made driverless travelling possible. Although it isn't mainstream at the moment, in the future commuters will travel without a driver. There are several pros and cons to this development. In my viewpoint, the demerits are numerous as compared to the merits. In this essay, we navigate through the disadvantages. To commence with, it will hamper employment. Currently, public and private transport has been proliferating. The transportation officials are recruiting drivers according to shift duties and offer lucrative pay. With the advent of technology, drivers will become jobless. Besides this, passengers gain knowledge from the person who is driving, and they talk to each other during the journey to while away the time. For instance, drivers tend to be the tourist guides while visiting different destinations with tourists. Moreover, they recommend hotels, restaurants and shops too. Furthermore, driverless vehicles can be perilous. If there are any technical glitches then it may lead to life-threatening accidents. To elaborate on this, a vehicle can miss detecting an obstacle and hit it at the expense of a passenger's life. Although there are benefits such as one can go on a road trip and relax in the backseat instead of driving for long hours. Also, passengers will not have to rely on the driver and travel hassle-free. However, people will have to pay exorbitant amounts to own an automated driverless vehicle. To summarise, from my perspective, the disadvantages of travelling in driverless cars are more than the advantages because passengers will miss intriguing conversations with a chauffeur. Additionally, drivers will become jobless and face difficulties to get a job. Lastly, it's risky to travel in an advanced car fearing error.