Shopping is the favourite free time activity for many young people today. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time rather than shopping? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has been quite an obvious discussion around the topic of hobbies. While some people believe that shopping is necessary for teenagers while they have free time, I would argue that young people should be influenced to do more activities in their free time. I will explain my reasons in this essay. This is no doubt that social media platforms have influenced young people to spend their free time shopping rather than playing outside or doing other activities. This is because many technologies, gadgets and fashion items that there is an easy way to follow and encourage teenagers to purchase goods. For example, on Instagram advertisements by famous brands encourage teenagers to buy fashionable items to follow the trend. Also, an online shop will have a discount if they show a student ID card. As a result, advertisements on social media can convince teenagers to spend their free time shopping. However, it is worth pointing out that youths should be spending their free time in more activities and hobbies which can be beneficial for them. This is based on the fact that many activities such as reading, exercise and going outdoor sports can benefit their knowledge, health and creativity. For instance, children who like to do outdoor sports can increase their mental health, physical fitness and social more than those who spend free time in the shopping mall. Consequently, young children should do more activities that they are interested in. Also, these activities can be beneficial for their health and knowledge. In Conclusion, we can observe that shopping is necessary, but it should not be a hobby for teenagers. Overall, I firmly believe that youngsters should spend their free time on various activities.