Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others,however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have conflicting views on how to enhance the health of the general population. While, in some ways, it may seem reasonable to think that building more sports facilities in cities is the best answer, I believe that it has a lot more to do with other measures to improve the community health. There are some reasons why people claim that governments should invest more in sports infrastructure. Firstly, it is a matter of fact that physical exercise contributes a major part in maintaining well-being. Without physical activities, one cannot obtain his maximum health. Secondly, Nowadays, people find it extremely difficult to find time to commute a long distance to reach a sports centre or gym in downtown. In other words, everyone is not accessible to athletic facilities even if they would like to engage with some P.E. Therefore, it is argued that having more sports services widespread across the cities, can not only offer a chance to people who want to try, but also encourage people who love to do it more. For example, I could witness that after our local council installed some outdoor exercise equipments in parks, many more people come and work out thereby adopting a more physically active lifestyle. Despite the arguments stated above, I would agree with those who believe that equipping athletic apparatus is not the most effective method to ensure public good health. Well-being is not achieved by solely doing exercises. There are other components such as diet, behaviours and health awareness that comprise a good shape. For instance, if people do sports everyday but fail to give up eating too much junk food, there will be no significant benefit from exercising. Likewise, even though the government has constructed a number of athletic centres across the country for the sake of the population, if people do not understand the advantages of physical activities, it all will result in a waste of money and time. Thus, in conclusion, I believe that to ensure people ’s good health, increasing the number of sports facilities alone is not a realistic approach as people need to be informed about its profits and be cautious about their daily diet as well