Nowadays, a lot of offices have open-space design instead of separate rooms. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been a trend to build company premises with the open-air concept than having partitioned working environments. It includes more benefits than drawbacks. Firstly, the essay will explain how this new architectural design can promote interaction and teamwork. Secondly, it will elaborate on the way it reduces privacy. To begin with, open-space offices encourage employees to connect with their co-workers. In spite of being isolated, colleagues’ interaction can produce amazing outputs which will not be achieved through segregation. In addition to that, it improves the team spirit among colleagues that helps to overcome issues such as stress, anxiety, exceeded deadlines etc. For example, IT companies such as IFS and PWC maintain common working areas where employees are capable to work together as a team. On the other hand, the main disadvantage of the practice can be recognized as a high level of disturbances which reduces privacy. Even though people prefer to spend their time happily, there can be instances where they need a calm atmosphere as well to relax. This is not provided for workers when it is designed without separated rooms. For instance, there was a peer who did not prefer noise but the working environment was always noisy at our office since we had a common room to work. In conclusion, common workspaces are more popular these days due to their positive effects such as teamwork and interaction achievements which overweight the negative impact of a higher disturbance rate.