In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centre or malls to do their shopping Is this a positive or a negative development?

In the past several years, plenty of local stores have closed due to their customers preferring to go shopping in a larger store. In this case, I do not particularly agree or disagree with the statement. There are some positive and negative impacts caused by this change which I will explain in detail in the essay. On one hand, having people go and shop in the local stores or traditional markets will help not only the seller but the nation's economy as well. The seller clearly would gain profits when their stuff is being purchased and will make their shops to be more sustainable. As the money goes around, this will help with the financial flow of the country. Supermarkets, which are usually owned by foreign companies, would not help with the country's economic condition at all as the profits would straightly go to the company. On the other hand, the price of the exact same thing could be much cheaper in modern trade compared to general trade. Because of its massive purchase by the store, they could get a discounted price. As for traditional shops, although it is possible for the purchaser to negotiate on the price tag, it is not something that could be relied on. That is one of the reasons the crowds are changing their habit of travelling to the malls just to get what they need. In addition to that, some products are much easier to get there, in other words, the availability at the local store could be considered limited. In summary, both local shops and larger shopping centre have their own positive and negative impact on society. Both also have their own benefits for the seller or the buyer, it really depends on what product and the preference of the buyer.