People believe that in order to reduce road accidents it should be mandatory for drivers to retake the driving test every 3 years. Do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

It is noticeable that road accidents in many countries are on the rise. Some people believe that retaking driving tests every few years would reduce the number of accidents. However, I completely disagree with this statement and believe that the infrastructure should be improved and transport rules should be followed instead of reassessment of driving tests. To embark with, one of the main reasons for highway accidents is due to deteriorating infrastructure. There are many national highways with huge potholes, and uneven road surfaces which makes it difficult for the drivers to control the vehicle when they suddenly spot it, also during monsoon it is totally invisible to the eyes due to water clogged in. To illustrate, a few months ago when we were travelling with family to Mangalore, as soon we crossed NH70 we witnessed substandard roads for nearly 1 km, we were lucky to avoid an accident as it was daytime. Furthermore, toll gates are set up on highways to collect fees which in turn are used to maintain the road. In addition, another main reason is the violation of traffic rules. Firstly, most of the drivers don't follow the traffic rules because they have to reach their destination on time, more trips fetch them more money, as there are no stringent rules, they get away easily by paying a minimum amount as a fine. Adding to this, pedestrians do not use subways, or foot-over bridges. For instance, the majority of the accidents occur around IT parks, schools and colleges during peak hours as most of them are in a hurry to reach home. Eventually, drivers are blamed in such cases due to negligence. However, I believe that social responsibility and common sense are needed in such a situation. In conclusion, to tackle this situation, the government should improve the infrastructure and individuals should be penalized with strict fines and cancellation of driving licence who refuses to comply with the traffic rules rather than asking to take up the driving exam every few years.