It’s believed that people who read for pleasure develop their imagination more and acquire better language skills compared to people who prefer watching television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a tremendous increase in the number of individuals questioning whether language skills are significantly developed while reading, in comparison to watching television. While some strongly disagree, I firmly believe that reading is the best approach to improve one’s language abilities. From my perspective, reading is essential, Not only because it triggers different brain regions during this activity, but also boosts language skills. To begin, there is an argument to be made that reading stimulates the brain regions, which as a result causes overall improved cognitive functions. For example, one-third of the older German population reported having higher IQ levels, in comparison to the new generation who spend most their time on their smartphones. For this reason, it is evident that reading stimulates the hypothalamus and frontal lobe, which are areas responsible for managing actions and linguistic aspects of the brain. What is more, it also drives readers to create a visual image of the text they are reading, thus raising the comprehensive memory perspective. This being the case, it can be assumed that if people watch television more than reading, this would reduce their overall cognitive functions. In addition, it must be stated that books and journals contribute to learning new words and widen the range of vocabulary. For instance, most of the writers from the Washington newspaper have shown the ability to read ten times faster than the average population. Therefore, it is clear that indulging in reading enhances someone’s language proficiency and elevates their knowledge. Furthermore, it is pivotal to increase the learning competency of readers to acquire further language skills. With this in mind, there is no doubt that if the public spends more time reading, they would notice considerable improvement in their general education. To conclude, the overwhelming evidence seems to suggest that there are many benefits related to reading, which will be a turning point in building stronger and enhanced cognitive abilities.