Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required?

With the advance in technology, going shopping through online platforms has been prevalent among shoppers. As a result, it will significantly impact the environment and jobs, which will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, it is obvious that online shopping brings about several environmental advantages. Since people can easily purchase kinds of stuff from websites instead of travelling far away for shopping, the number of vehicles will significantly decrease. As a result, this can help to address the problem of traffic congestion and contribute to the improvement in air quality. Moreover, online shopping is considered an effective way to reduce light pollution. There is often too much light from a range of advertisements appearing in the streets which has bad influences on nature, especially on animals and plants. Thanks to online shopping, these adverts can be displayed on the Internet. Therefore, cyber shopping is beneficial for the environment. Besides, online shopping has provided people with more employment opportunities. As purchased goods need to be delivered to buyers, people can work as a shipper to earn their living without having any degree or qualification. For example, Grab companies tend to employ workers regardless of their education level and offer them a high salary. In addition, the growing popularity of online shopping has created new jobs, such as computer programmers and web designers. These professionals not only bring workers a proper income because of the requirement of a certain quantity of technical knowledge but also allow them to work at home with comfort. For the reasons mentioned above, I believe employees can benefit from cybershopping. In conclusion, the growth of online shopping has positive effects on the environment and labour market as a hold. The development in technology will always improve the living standard of residents.