Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

It is true that an increasing number of people nowadays have a tendency to start a family life later in their life. There are several reasons for this trend, which is having a significant impact on family life and society as a whole. There are two main reasons why people choose to have children in their later life. Firstly, some people might consider building their career top-priority rather than embark on parenthood. Therefore, if they had to split their time between working and upbringing their kids when they were in the early stage of their career, their performance at work and promoting prospects might be adversely affected. Secondly, delaying childbirth could give youngsters more opportunities to enjoy their personal life as they would have more time to do whatever they want. For example, this choice would allow young people to have a richer social life or pursue their interests and hobbies. However, this development may have detrimental effects on both family life and society. An issue concerning the family is that it might be a huge challenge for older parents to raise their children. To elucidate, choosing to delay having children would widen the generation gap between parents and their offspring. Consequently, this could increase the danger of having a miscarriage or stillbirth for older mothers, and babies might be at greater risk of having Down’s syndrome, thereby negatively affecting the quality of the future workforce. In conclusion, there are a number of reasons why more and more people prefer giving birth later in life. As a result, there could be negative influences on individual families and society at large.