Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

In our fiercely competitive world, where people are so busy working, it is witnessed that the majority of the workforce suffers from a lack of enough sleep. The problems which are caused by this issue and one of its major solutions are going to be discussed comprehensively in the following paragraphs. One of the major side effects of sleep deprivation is weakening of an individual’s immune system. Moreover, lack of concentration, getting easily tired, and lower productivity at the workplace are witnessed frequently in such people. For instance, research was conducted in California in 2006, which compared employees’ health conditions and productivity in two different companies. The results of that study revealed that employees who worked for seven hours a day had much better concentration and productivity levels compared to those who worked for another company for ten hours a day. Besides, the first company’s recruits were healthier as well, because they had more time for sleeping at night. Therefore, not only can enough sleep boost a person’s health, but also it can help him or her to work better and be more efficient at the workplace. In my opinion, authorities play a key role in this regard. They are supposed to legislate strict rules for maintaining the work-life balance to guarantee that their workforce has enough time for resting and sleeping. For example, in Japan, employers give their workers a bonus if they take a nap at their workplace. Consequently, they believe that an employee shows his or her dedication to work by taking a nap, since this deed helps him or her to be more concentrated and productive at the job. Consequently, governments play an influential role regarding one of the most crucial indices of their people’s health, which is enough sleep. To sum up, many people nowadays are suffering from a lack of adequate sleep. This issue has some side effects, and there are some solutions which can address this problem, which have been mentioned in the above paragraphs.